Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

SUPPORT THE ARTS IN SCOTTSDALE

Art inspires and sustains us. We look to you, our community of arts lovers, for help in this critical moment. Please consider becoming a ONE Member or giving a donation today to support the arts in Scottsdale.

Loading Events

about this event

Join us for a special theatrical eventCOVIDstyle! Although delivered online, this play, starring Ed Asner (Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show) and Janet Arnold Rees, will be performed live, with direction by Meribeth Reeves, managing director of Scottsdale Center for the Performing Arts. Robert Benjamin, the playwright, will be present to answer your questions following the performance. Length of play: 30 minutes, Q&A: 15 minutes 

Summary

In this upbeat, heartwarming tale about older adults coping with the COVID-19 pandemic, Bari is desperate for in-person social contact while sheltering in place. A neighbor, Kevin, a confirmed recluse, has embraced social distancing for many years. He reluctantly agrees to a video call after refusing her visit. She pleads, teases, and cajoles him to expand his bubble but to no avail, until she stumbles upon a hidden trait that shifts his focus. Can she exploit her discovery to gain his friendship, if only during the crisis? What do older adults most need to find a new friend during COVID times? 

Donations

This event is free, but donations are encouraged. All donations for this production will be split among Scottsdale Arts, Jewish Family & Children’s Service, and The Ed Asner Family Center.

Donate Now

In partnership with Jewish Family Children’s Service 

Jewish Family and Childrens Services

Times

3:00 p.m. MST
4:00 p.m. MDT
5:00 p.m. CDT
6:00 p.m. EDT
3:00 p.m. PDT