Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Endless Possibilities Ahead 

Help us create more transformative, artful experiences in your community!

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

ASU Concerts @ the Center 

ASU Chamber Orchestra

The ASU Chamber Orchestra presents a new work by composer Daniel Taborda Higuita; Frank Proto’s virtuosic Nine Variants on Paganini, performed by bassist Nathaniel De la Cruz; Haydn’s The Soul of the Philosopher; and concludes with a world premiere performance of a newly-created edition of Beethoven’s brilliant Symphony no. 8.

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2021, 7:30 p.m.


  • A: $15
  • B: $10
  • Livestream: $5

About the Event

Haydn: Overture to Orfeo ed Euridice (The Soul of the Philosopher) 

Daniel Taborda Higuita: New Work (2021) (World Premiere)  

Frank Proto: Nine Variants on Paganini (2002) performed by Nathaniel De La Cruz, bass 

BeethovenSymphony No. 8 (World Premiere, Nicholas Kitchen Edition) 

The ASU Chamber Orchestra presents two of ASU’s emerging stars: DMA composer Daniel Taborda Higuita, winner of the 2020 ASU Composition Competition, who wrote a new work for the ASUCO; and bassist Nathaniel De la Cruz, winner of the 2021 ASU Concerto Competition, who will perform Frank Proto’s virtuosic Nine Variants on Paganini. The concert begins with Haydn’s The Soul of the Philosopher and concludes with a world premiere performance of a newly-created edition of Beethoven’s brilliant Symphony no. 8. 


Scottsdale Center for the Performing Arts | Virginia G. Piper Theater
7380 E 2nd St
Scottsdale, AZ 85251

View Map

virtual livestream

Details on how to participate in the virtual livestream will be emailed after tickets are purchased.